Wake Up, Girls! Impressions

Before you start reading, please take note that this is not a review. Or at least not a proper review. This post just contains my fucking rant about this shit tier hentai thoughts, opinions and observations regarding this lovely anime. I won’t be responsible for any reader who gets butthurt with this post. This is the internet so deal with it.

But well, feel free to do whatever you want. Treat this post as a review, a tabloid or print the whole page and wipe your ass with it. Make sure that it’s colored so the experience will be top notch.


I am aware that this anime was shown around 2 years ago but for starters, Wake Up, Girls! also known as “WUG” is an anime with genres mainly composed of Music, Slice of Life and Drama. Being produced by Ordet and Tatsunoko Productions, it was aired in winter 2014 from January 11 to March 29, 2014 with a total of 12 episodes. It has a movie prequel titled “Wake Up, Girls! Shichinin no Idol” which was shown on the 10th of January 2014. It also has an Original Net Animation entitled “Wake Up Girl ZOO” which has a run time of 3 minutes per episode and it has a total of 10 episodes.”

In the present, there exists 3 movies of this series which are “Wake Up, Girls! Shichinin no Idol”, “Wake Up, Girls! Seishun ni Kage” and “Wake Up, Girls! Beyond the Bottom”. However, only “Wake Up, Girls! Shichinin no Idol”, which is the prequel is subbed as of today, the 10th of April 2016.

Speaking about the movies, it was suggested that one should start watching the movie “Wake Up, Girls! Shichinin no Idol” before starting on episode 1. Well, I followed that advice and I’m glad I did. Why’s that? “Wake Up, Girls! Shichinin no Idol” was shown a day early than the series itself and it showed the events that happened before episode 1.

The scenes which were shown in the movie were quite relevant. One may or will not understand what the story is about with the first few episodes if the movie prequel isn’t watched before the first episode. Don’t want to follow my advice? Then go ahead and watch the first episode before watching the movie prequel and once you’re done, proceed on killing yourself over the regret.

“Wake Up, Girls!” is also one of those idol anime that you watch nowadays along with Love Live! School Idol Project and The iDOLM@STER but one downside of this anime is about its mediocre level of animation. So the producers (not sure of the term) may have to come up with something to attract fans and encourage them to keep watching this anime. How did they do it? Let’s have a look at the photos below.

Panty shots, swimsuits, shimapan, that “anime physics” type of landing…Yep, you guessed it correctly; Fanservice!! ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

mfw I see those last 3 screenshots. They’re my favourite ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Seriously though, look at that perverted lad’s face!! It looks like Kami Translation‘s translator!! (If he sees this he’ll kill me for sure) I really feel sorry for the girls while I was watching those episodes and want to punch those kissless wizards and castrate them. As if their testicles would be of any use asides from wanking.

Let’s change topic as I’m already looking like a pervert here with my screenshot folder full of WUG fanservice being opened. Not like I’m planning to delete them or at least not anytime soon. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)


Asides from fanservice, there are other factors which makes this anime interesting despite the fact that it has a mediocre level of animation and one of them is the drama. The good thing about this anime is that they focus more on the darker side of the idol industry. What is the effect when the darker side is shown? Sadness. What is the effect of sadness? That’s right; feels. Lots and lots of feels. Apparently, this anime is compensated by the amount of feels involved. With a 12 episode anime, a majority of its episodes are injected with quite an amount of tear jerking scenes which makes the storyline even more interesting so if you’re a wanker you easily get affected with these types of scenes then bring your fap tissue with you. At least you’ll use it for what it’s intended to be used.

It’s not just the tear jerking scenes that makes the drama feel stand out. With this particular anime covering the story of mostly each members, character development exists. Everybody knows that most good anime has character development and there’s no doubt that Wake Up, Girls! has it.


If there is one more reason I can complain about asides from the limited amount of doujinshi (because the virgins are a bunch of Love Live! School Idol Project and The iDOLM@STER fags mediocre level of animation is the limited amount of songs in the anime. I went on my way and searched around the internet for their songs and there seems to be a decent amount of it (but a bunch of dead fucking links) so why are there a fewer selections in the anime? It’s because Wake Up, Girls! is not just an anime. As I mentioned above, it also has a few movies and they have an idol group in real life. As a matter of fact, the member’s names are the same as in the anime.

I guess I explained its pros and cons and I won’t bother summarizing it. At this point, the pros outweighs the cons if that made sense. So for my final thought; there may be a few selections of songs but, quality over quantity here. We’re not mass producing materials mate. It may not show a lot giggling and whatnot since it focuses on the darker side of idol life but it still shares a fair slice of the “happy” side of an idol life and besides, who would not want to see those those sweet fanservice episodes? ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

My suggestion if you haven’t watched it or it’s waiting on your list? Put in on your “priority list” if you have any and I should say it’s a must watch if you’re an avid fan of idol series.


Since I’m about to end this post, I’ll apply that “picture of the day” feature here. Since we’re talking about it, I’ll feature an image with this series.

credits to the artist.

I chose this because for some reason, I love the rivalry between those two. I think Shiho has a softer side though and the episode where she helped a member when they were in a pinch somehow proves my theory. Not going to talk about the details since it may spoil some readers.

About their album, I somehow downloaded some of it despite of all the dead links and few seeders in nyaa thanks to a certain someone. He’s a guy (or so I think since he sounds like a confused individual) so nothing weird going on. Anyway I may upload them to one of my cloud drives as a gesture of goodwill towards my readers since I do not want them to experience what I had to go through with those bunch of 404’ed bullshit.

But I guess it still depends on my schedule and my memory. If I forgot about it then either remind me by commenting below or on the download page or else I may entirely forget it *teehee*

It seems that I wrote everything in this post. With all the remaining task in the coming days and the time right now (it’s around 3am atm), it looks like I have to end this post.

Till then, bibi and happy fapping~!

One thought on “Wake Up, Girls! Impressions

  1. The idolization of little girls (child erotica) permeates Japanese culture. Kawaii is normalized and is the ideal for girls and young women. In America fans partake without consideration for the role it plays in the commodification of girls in Japan. I recommend all fans abroad read the UN report on Japan’s exploitation problem and educate themselves. I love Japan and there is a lot of great anime out there but the word fan service diminishes the original Lolita complex aspects. A copy of the report is under my post “Dear Japan.” Good review though. I especially like testicles comment!

Leave a Reply

